Visas for North Cyprus

When travelling to North Cyprus the majority of nationalities only need be concerned with having a current passport that has at least 6 months validity remaining.  Citizens of all EU countries together with Australia, Canada, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore and Switzerland do not require a visa prior to travelling.  Other nationalities should check with their local embassy office, or indeed visit the offices of the Turkish Republic of North Cyprus (TRNC) if they happen to have a representative in your native country.

However, do remember that at the moment those who fly to Ercan have to land at a Turkish mainland airport first, and Turkish passport and visa requirements may differ.

[Read more...]

Embassies in Cyprus


Several nations’ embassies, high commissions or foreign missions are located in North Cyprus and they can help with varying issues such as passport renewals, birth certificates, legal advice and much more.  Local Turkish Cypriots wishing to travel to the countries which are represented on the island are required to visit the relevant nation’s offices to obtain visas for their journey.

You would probably be surprised at the amount of information and advice that these offices can give you.  Below are the main offices available in North Cyprus, they are mostly located near to the Ledra checkpoint area in Lefkoşa.  Be aware that some of the offices such as Australia’s only operate on a clinic basis, opening twice a week in the North, so it is always wise to call ahead and book an appointment or check opening times.  Each website mentioned provides details such as opening hours, the services the embassy offers as well as maps and directions to the offices.

[Read more...]